2014 Accomplishments / 2015 Goals: Reflection for the New Year

Screen Shot 2014-12-31 at 11.59.17 AM

Last January, I took 15 minutes to reflect upon my goals for the upcoming 2014 year.  Here are the highlights of what I achieved from those goals:

Spend more time knowing my familyThis year brought me closer to my family. My conscious effort to better know my family was rewarded with a deeper understanding of what moves and motivates them. This is my greatest achievement of 2014.

Go on a yoga retreat. Went on an amazing retreat with Yoga with Bria and Charlie the Yogi at the beautiful Grail at Cornwall-on-Hudson. Reconnected with friends and made some beautiful new ones.

Do 3 things that scare me.  This year I (1) Zip-lined through a Mayan jungle, (2) rappelled into a Cenote and (3) scuba dived with Bull Sharks and Sting Rays.

Write, Write, WriteIn 2014, I wrote 100+ blog posts on everything from travel to love to food.  This year has been huge in  recognizing how vital the written word is to my very soul.

Leave the country at least onceLeft the country twice!  Funny enough, both times to Mexico. I danced in a thunder storm on the beaches of Cancun, climbed ancient pyramids in Coba, was blessed by a Mayan Shaman in the jungle and swam in the cool waters of a Cenote.

Get Scuba CertifiedOfficially have a PADI Open Water Diver License thanks to my academics through Underwater Adventures Dive Center and my open water dives with Phantom Divers!

Achieve a yoga head standAchieved! And continued to do one almost every day!

Dance on the beaches of a foreign seaI was blessed enough this year to dance twice on a foreign sea. Once was with my lovely travel soulmate and the second in celebration of my brother’s wedding!

Travel to 2 new U.S. citiesTraveled to 6 new U.S. cities

  • Charleston, SC
  • Beacon, NY
  • Cornwall-on-Hudson, NY
  • Austin, TX
  • San Antonio, TX
  • Boston, MA

And these, my friends, are just the highlights.  There was so much more in 2014 to be grateful for!  And so, as I sit feeling inspired on the last day of this year … I take my next 15 minutes for goals for 2015.

  • Finish writing my cookbook
  • Go on at least 2 dives this year as a certified diver
  • Dance every day – even for only a minute
  • Achieve a Yoga Head Stand without using the wall
  • Reconnect with at least 5 old friends
  • Make 5 new friends
  • Make sure vegetables are a part of every meal
  • Never spend more than 2 hours watching tv
  • Take 1 risk every day
  • Travel to at least 3 new U.S. cities
  • Leave the country at least once

Happy New Year!  I hope your 2015 is full of life, love and accomplishment.

3 responses to “2014 Accomplishments / 2015 Goals: Reflection for the New Year

Leave a Reply

